Four Corners Competition: Runner-Ups

Yesterday, the eight winners of my Four Corners Travel Photography Competition were announced! However, there were so many fantastic entries in every category, that I wanted to give some special mentions to some of the entries that just missed out on the top spot. Sadly, I don’t have any runner-up prizes to offer except the awe and respect of their peers – but this talented bunch of photographers still deserve a mention!

Sense Of Place – Special Mentions

Warao Kid Canoe

Warao Kid Canoe

By Gunes Akdogan

“I shot this photo in Orinoco Delta, Venezuela. Warao people are living there as they are the real Indians of Venezuela. The area is covered by jungle and has a huge network of river web. It’s normal that you can see kids with canoes on the river. I am a full time traveller and photographer. I walked 1000 km on east Europe and crossed the Atlantic Ocean with HH to a sailboat. Lived in jungle of Venezuela. Volunteer on the way. I am writing my experiences and tips & tricks on my blog. Currently I am in the beginning of a book project.

Nara's Grandfather

Nara’s Grandfather

By Frank Cademartori

Frank Cademartori lives in Seoul, South Korea. Originally from Chicago, Illinois, he now spends his time achieving amateur status at various activities. He has chosen to daily relive the horrors of Middle School from the other side of the teacher’s desk. More of his photography can be found here.

Cities – Special Mentions

Melbourne Skyline

Melbourne Skyline

By Anna Phipps

I’m a traveller, blogger, a dreamer with an insatiable appetite to learn and discover more about this world.”

Hong Kong Skyline

Hong Kong Skyline

By Alicia Lauhon

“I’ve been passionate about food, travel and all things cultural from an early age. I feel connected on a global level to people. I came to the US as a baby, grew up Midwestern, added a splash of Californian and have tasted life on five continents.

I love to discover places where I can connect with people through food, music, art etc. My blog is a space to review restaurants and events in Chicago and around the world. ATL is also about connecting people with experiences in order to “taste life” in a real and genuine way.”

People – Special Mentions

Nuns at Si Chum

Nuns at Si Chum

By Benjamin Williams

“Nothing that notable to say yet.  My name is Ben.  I’m a native Michigander with a passion for human culture and new places, and more than that, new experiences.  I have degrees in writing and anthropology and have no idea what I want to do with them.  For now, I’m content with an unbound lifestyle; going where I want and doing what I can, and hopefully gaining some interesting stories along the way on PathsUnwritten.com.”

Child of the Himalayas

Child of the Himalayas

By Shay Bertling

“My name is shay, but peeps call me s7. I’ve been (sorta) wandering the globe since 2009. Because, as McCandless put it so nicely, there is no greater joy than an endlessly changing horizon. Unlike McCandless, however, I am still alive, so I shall walk until I drop. Just spent 3 months in India, 2 in Nepal. More pics here at leftblink.wordpress.com ”

Landscapes – Special Mentions

Rush hour in Halong Bay, Vietnam

Rush hour in Halong Bay, Vietnam

By Richard Read

“I am Richard and enjoying my “senior” gap year seeing all the places that were not possible to see in the 60s & 70s for whatever reason.”

Dangerous Currents

Dangerous Currents

By Gregory J King

“This image was taken early one morning at a little beach called Bondi during a visit to the wonderful east coast of Australia.”

PS – the featured image was chosen at random and is not a reflection of preference in any way! 

Leave a Reply

